top of page
Search

The Journey Home

So my last tour of Asia is almost over and it hasn't been what we expected.


Out of the possible six shore leaves we have had one! We have also faced delays in four of these ports with the latest being a three day anchor offshore from Vietnam. To start the cadets were being being punished for leaving a mess in the Officers Recreation Room, which the majority of the crew knew wasn't us. This meant we missed shore leave in Tanjung Pelepas, Hong Kong, Shekou and Yantian. We were hoping to get off in Vietnam but because of the constant changes in the schedule we weren't sure if it was possible. It turned out to be perfect and we got nearly the whole day off.


After nearly a month and a half at sea most of the engine crew went off together to a small resort for drinks and a meal. The cadets and one of the fitters stayed behind at night to go to a different hotel and spend some more time ashore.

We are now going to anchor again for a day out Singapore, the engine cadets have been given the afternoon off on Saturday so that we can work on bunkering, provisions and spare parts that we are taking on in Singapore. If everything goes as planned from now on we should make it to Suez on the 12th September and then into Newark on the 24th September, cutting it pretty close for being home for my 18th (27th September). Judging how we have never made it into a port on the original schedule I am getting nervous as I might spend my birthday on board or maybe if I get lucky I will be flying back that day.


Any way I am looking for an upgrade on the flight home, I know exactly how to enjoy myself after four months on board.

25 days to go!


Fraz has now been given a provisional leaving date of the 25th September, flying home from Newark on an evening flight!!

80 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page